One of the benefits of living in the coop is that I don’t have to pay for groceries.  Given, that means I have to eat whatever Mother Hen buys, but she keeps a substantial stock of cheese handy, so it works for me.  On top of that, she has actually given me an allowance.

Yes, you read that correctly.

Not a weekly allowance (I think she knows it would all go towards cheap wine) but every now and then she’ll just give me five or ten or twenty dollars.  One day during my first week in the coop, she gave me $40 “for gas.”  I thanked her and as I walked down the hall to put it in my purse, I ran into Papa Rooster, who handed me a $25 Chevron gift card.  Double win!

In fact, the entire family has been incredibly generous with me.  Just today, Mother Hen and her sister-in-law decided they’d go halfsies on a hair cut for me.  I was floored by the gesture.  How nice!  That’s when Mother Hen said, “yes, it helps to have a good haircut when you’re interviewing!”

Maybe I’m being sensitive, but I think she just told me my haircut sucks and that I need to hurry up and get a job.  Now excuse me, I’m going to go raid the cheese drawer and drown my sorrows in gouda.

